Departmental & Resource Faculty

Mark Baugher
Russian Lecturer
Russian language Foster 417
773-702-6768
mbaugher@uchicago.edu
Robert Bird
Professor
Russian literature, film and intellectual history Foster 416
(773) 702-8195
bird@uchicago.edu
Eleonor Gilburd
Assistant Professor of History and the College
Russia and the Soviet Union; modern Europe; cultural history, especially exchange and translation; the Cold War; aesthetic reception; everyday life. SS 515
(773) 702-0466
egilburd@uchicago.edu
Yaroslav Gorbachov
Assistant Professor of Slavic Linguistics
Historical Slavic, Baltic, and Indo-European linguistics (in particular, verb morphology), Balto-Slavic accentology Foster 413
(773) 834-2084
gorbachov@uchicago.edu
Lenore Grenoble
John Matthews Manly Distinguished Service Professor
Slavic Linguistics Wieboldt 401
(773) 702-0927
grenoble@uchicago.edu
Faith Hillis
Associate Professor of Russian History and the College
Modern Russia; Ukrainian history; modern Europe; urban history; nationalism; borderlands; comparative empires; history of political ideas and cultures; migration and mobility SS 508
(773) 702-5601
hillis@uchicago.edu
Erik Houle
Lecturer & Slavic Languages Program Coordinator
Russian and Polish

erhoule@uchicago.edu
Angelina Ilieva
Lecturer; Director of Undergraduate Studies (Winter 2017 and Spring 2017)
Balkan and South Slavic Literatures Foster 411
(773) 834-2179
ilievaa@uchicago.edu
Matthew Jesse Jackson
Associate Professor of Art History, the Department of Visual Arts, and the College
Contemporary, postwar European and Soviet Art 262 CWAC
(773) 702-5134
mjjacksn@uchicago.edu
Boris Maslov
Associate Professor of Comparative Literature
Russian literature Foster 401

maslov@uchicago.edu
William Nickell
Associate Professor, Chair of the Slavic Department
Russian literature Foster 402
(773) 702-8083
wnickell@uchicago.edu
Nada Petković-Djordjević
Lecturer
Bosnian/Croatian/Serbian language Foster 410
(773) 702-0035
petkovic@uchicago.edu
Valentina Pichugin
Senior Lecturer
Russian language Foster 414

vpichugi@uchicago.edu
Bożena Shallcross
Professor, Director of Graduate Studies
Modern Polish literature, Holocaust studies, cultural studies Foster 508
(773) 702-7734
bshallcr@uchicago.edu
Malynne Sternstein
Associate Professor
Czech Studies, Russian Literature (20th-21st cc), Nabokov studies, Central European Studies, Film, and Critical Theory Foster 409
(773) 834-0894
msternst@uchicago.edu
Yuri Tsivian
William Colvin Professor, Departments of Art History, Slavic Languages & Literatures, Comparative Literature, the Department of Cinema & Media Studies, and the College; Chair, Department of Cinema and Media Studies.
History of film styles; film and Russian/Soviet art; Dziga Vertov; Sergei Eisenstein; old versus new media; gesture and performance CWAC
(773) 702-0254
ytsivian@uchicago.edu
Tara Zahra
Professor of History
Modern Europe; Eastern and Central Europe; Transnational and Comparative History; Nationalism; Childhood, Gender, and the Family; War and Occupation; Borderlands; Displacement and Migration. 1126 East 59th Street, Mailbox 85
(773) 834-2599
tzahra@uchicago.edu