Faculty

By Name
Cori Anderson
Senior Lecturer and Coordinator of the Slavic Language Program
Slavic and Baltic linguistics, morphosyntax, foreign language pedagogy, technology in the classroom 403
(773) 834-5904
cori@uchicago.edu
Robert Bird
Associate Professor
Russian Literature Foster 416
(773) 702-8195
bird@uchicago.edu
Erik Houle
Russian Lecturer


erhoule@uchicago.edu
Yuliya Ilchuk
Russian Literature Lecturer
19th, 20th, and 21st Russian and Ukrainian Literature and Culture, Translation Studies, Performance Studies, Postcolonial Theory, Sociolinguistics, and Language Pedagogy F 407

yilchuk@uchicago.edu
Angelina Ilieva
Lecturer
Balkan and South Slavic Literatures Foster 411
(773) 834-2179
ilievaa@uchicago.edu
Matthew Jesse Jackson
Associate Professor
Contemporary, postwar European and Soviet Art 262 CWAC
(773) 702-5134
mjjacksn@uchicago.edu
Kinga Kosmala
Lecturer
Polish language and literature Foster 410
(773) 834-2180
kkmaciej@uchicago.edu
Boris Maslov
Assistant Professor
Russian literature Foster 401

maslov@uchicago.edu
Jason Merchant
Professor of Linguistics and Deputy Dean for Languages and Chair
(773) 702-8523

merchant@uchicago.edu
William Nickell
Assistant Professor
Russian literature Foster 402
(773) 702-8083
wnickell@uchicago.edu
Nada Petković-Djordjević
Lecturer
Bosnian/Croatian/Serbian language Foster 410
(773) 702-0035
petkovic@uchicago.edu
Valentina Pichugin
Senior Lecturer
Russian language Foster 414

vpichugi@uchicago.edu
Bożena Shallcross
Director of Graduate Studies and Professor
Modern Polish literature, Holocaust studies, cultural studies Foster 402
(773) 702-7734
bshallcr@uchicago.edu
Malynne Sternstein
Director of Undergraduate Studies (Autumn 2013 and Winter 2014), and Associate Professor
Czech Studies, Russian Literature (20th-21st cc), Nabokov studies, Central European Studies, Film, and Critical Theory Foster 409
(773) 834-0894
msternst@uchicago.edu
Tamra Wysocki-Niimi
Lecturer
Georgian language Foster 417

tmwysock@uchicago.edu
Adam Zagajewski
Ferdinand Schevill Distinguished Service Professor
Poetry Foster 301
(773) 702-8408
adamz@uchicago.edu
Tara Zahra
Professor
Modern Europe; Eastern and Central Europe; Transnational and Comparative History; Nationalism; Childhood, Gender, and the Family; War and Occupation; Borderlands; Displacement and Migration. 1126 East 59th Street, Mailbox 85