Faculty & Lecturers

Mark Baugher
Russian Lecturer
Russian language Foster 417
773-702-6768
mbaugher@uchicago.edu
Robert Bird
Professor, Director of Graduate Studies
Russian literature, cinema and intellectual history Foster 416
(773) 702-8195
bird@uchicago.edu
Erik Houle
Lecturer & Slavic Languages Program Coordinator
Russian and Polish

erhoule@uchicago.edu
Angelina Ilieva
Lecturer; Director of Undergraduate Studies
Balkan and South Slavic Literatures Foster 411
(773) 702-0046
ilievaa@uchicago.edu
Sasha Lindskog
Polish Lecturer
Polish Literature Foster 410
(773) 834-2180
lindskog@uchicago.edu
Harriet Murav
Visiting Professor - Spring 2019
Comparative Literature Foster 508

hlmurav@illinois.edu
William Nickell
Associate Professor, Chair of the Slavic Department
Russian literature Foster 402
(773) 702-8083
wnickell@uchicago.edu
Nada Petković-Djordjević
Lecturer
Bosnian/Croatian/Serbian language Foster 410
(773) 702-0035
petkovic@uchicago.edu
Valentina Pichugin
Senior Lecturer
Russian language Foster 414

vpichugi@uchicago.edu
Bożena Shallcross
Professor in the Department of Slavic Literatures and Languages
Cultural studies, modernism, thing discourse, Holocaust studies, literature and the visual arts, identity and modes of habitation Foster 508
(773) 702-7734
bshallcr@uchicago.edu
Kaitlyn Tucker Sorenson
Teaching Fellow in the Humanities
Cultural and Intellectual History of Central and Southeastern Europe Foster 402

ktucker@uchicago.edu
Cheryl Anne Stephenson
Teaching Fellow in the Humanities
Central and East European theater; puppet and object theater; animation and film; Czech language; Russian language; Central European literature; Russian literature. Foster 402

cas1@uchicago.edu
Malynne Sternstein
Associate Professor
Czech Studies, Russian Literature (20th-21st cc), Nabokov studies, Central European Studies, Film, and Critical Theory Foster 409
(773) 834-0894
msternst@uchicago.edu